top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatherine Ann

Year In Review 2022: Defying Expectations

Upon first hearing the phrase “Global Citizen Scholar”, I felt like a fraud, is the mold I need to fit myself into? How am I supposed to have a profound world view as a newly eighteen-year-old who has only traveled to two countries? Then I stopped myself. It is not up to me to fit into the mold of the phrase, but to mold the phrase and define it using experiences I have already garnered.

At the beginning of the year, I defined a global citizen scholar as an individual who is able to apply their education and skills to all aspects of their life, and in turn aid the world. In addition to sharing your skills with the world, a true scholar is a lifelong learner that is always open to new ideas and perspectives. Even if these new teachings contradict your own beliefs, it is necessary to be challenged in order to evolve. To become a global citizen scholar, one must be able to share their own expertise with the world around them, and simultaneously embrace new perspectives.

Growing up a ballet dancer, I was taught to welcome any opportunity that came my way, even if it was out of my comfort zone. This spring, I had the incredible opportunity of working with the graduate opera program at CCM on the production of Galileo Galilei, composed by Phillip Glass. Working with director, Greg Eldridge, it was incredible to see his vision come to life; from sets, to costumes, to choreography. The dances in the show were even choreographed by one of my peers. It was both encouraging and inspiring to have work set on someone that was my age. This experience was an excellent opportunity to share my passion with those not as familiar with the dance world, and to learn about the world of opera myself. It was fascinating to compare how rehearsals were run differently, but then how everything culminated in the end. One of the dance scenes in the show revolved around Galileo discovering that the sun is the center of the universe, not the earth. The dance reflected his thought process, with me and my partner creating circular patterns in the beginning through movement, but never touching. Then, a definitive change in the music occurs and we start partnering, signaling that the idea has clicked for Galileo. He was not pardoned by the church for publishing these ideas until 1992. The production itself teaches the audience to embrace new perspectives, because they just might change the world. Throughout the rehearsal and performance process I was able to embrace the talent of those around me, and concurrently share mine with them.

Another opportunity that I took advantage of this year was becoming a docent at the Harriet Beecher Stowe House museum in Cincinnati. My passion for archaeology, and general love for history, drew me to the position. I am able to share the life and legacy of Harriet and Cincinnati while encompassed by living archaeology. I began training in January, and after studying and shadowing for a month I gave my first tour in February. It is an all around learning experience each time I work. I always learn something new from my colleagues, and it is so fulfilling teaching others about the house and its history. This is ultimately what the community of global citizen scholars boils down to; a mutual relationship among people with different talents and interests, all sharing and embracing each other’s passions.

3 views

Recent Posts

See All

Year In Review 2023: The Growth Factor

Growth is something that can only fully be regarded in the rearview of our minds. After the path has been mapped out, it is easy to look...

Comments


bottom of page