top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatherine Ann

Year In Review 2023: The Growth Factor

Growth is something that can only fully be regarded in the rearview of our minds. After the path has been mapped out, it is easy to look back and feel that your trials and tribulations were trivial. However, when experiencing pivotal moments in the present, there are thousands of other factors to account for. This year was defining for me, as I was able to tackle many personal and professional goals. In addition, I garnered new experiences that provided the inspiration to persevere.


As a double major in ballet and archaeology, two fields that do not have much relation, this year proved to be a balancing act. In the fall I began working my first on-campus job at the Campus Rec Center. This exposed me to individuals that I otherwise would not have interacted with due to my demanding schedule. However, during the spring semester, I had to take a leave of absence from this position that I had grown to love. I had the opportunity to guest as a supernumerary actor in the College-Conservatory of Music’s graduate student opera, Agrippina. This was my second opera at CCM, and the first that I solely acted in instead of dancing. I look back fondly on the friendships that I strengthened and formed during this experience. The cast became my support system, and inspired me to tap into new facets of myself as a performer and an individual.


Our spring concert for the ballet program consisted of repertoire from Sleeping Beauty and Swan Lake. I had the opportunity to perform my dream role, as a soloist in tall swans. I have watched this iconic dance performed many times, but being given the opportunity to experience it for myself was an honor I shall not soon forget. That’s not to say that the road to the stage was easy. Taking on this role was both physically and mentally challenging. In addition to this part, I also danced in the Sleeping Beauty corps de ballet, and understudied all of the Swan Lake corps de ballet. The overwhelming support from my teachers and peers was extremely motivating. Ballet is a combination of having intrinsic motivation initially, and reaching the finish line with extrinsic support from others. I pushed myself to new heights with this show, as it represents a pivotal moment in my ballet career.


My final show of Swan Lake, I received a highly anticipated email regarding my second major, archaeology. I was accepted into my dream field school at Jamestown, meaning I would have the opportunity to work with archaeologists I have admired for years. This is the site that first sparked my interest in archaeology, and I am so honored to have the opportunity to learn from the best in the field. For six weeks this summer I will be fully immersed in the site, learning field and lab techniques that will serve my eventual career.

Despite having so many dreams seemingly “come true”, a twenty-one credit hour spring semester is not something I seek to repeat. There were moments in the semester that became so stressful I honestly did not know how all of the work would be completed. I took things one day at a time, slow and steady. Time’s arrow inevitably marches forward and brings the semester to a close one way or another. Having multiple shoulders to lean on and hold me up through this process does not show weakness. Rather, it demonstrates that I have grown to understand the importance of seeking help and support from others during trying times.


Balancing two unrelated fields is tricky, but worth it because of my deep passion for both. I could not imagine my life without dance or the application of history in some way. Being an honors scholar gives me the tools to think critically about myself and my future in a broader context. Despite working on three shows at one time, working two jobs, and taking twenty-one credit hours, I was still excited to go to rehearsal each day. These accomplishments along the way, no matter how big or small, are important to express. I hope each of my areas of interest will inspire and educate others, or at least cause them to think differently about the world around them. I approached each project this year with passion and intention, and would not trade the world for any of these incredible opportunities.

5 views

Recent Posts

See All

Year In Review 2022: Defying Expectations

Upon first hearing the phrase “Global Citizen Scholar”, I felt like a fraud, is the mold I need to fit myself into? How am I supposed to...

Comments


bottom of page